Praying is essential for our daily lives. But sometimes we may find ourselves at a loss for words. Let me reassure you that our prayers do not have to fit inside a box, or be fashioned after some great prayer warrior. God already knows our hearts, so why do we try to pray in a mannerĀ  we THINK we should pray rather than just being ourselves?

The worlds were created by the Words from God’s mouth. When God speaks, things happen; things are created; situations change. All scripture is God breathed (2 Timothy 3:16). The conclusion, when I pray scriptures from the Bible I am speaking the Word of God over my life and over my situation. That’s powerful friends.

In my reading I’ve come across a prayer in scripture that I want to share with you. It’s one I’ve been praying in recent days. I’ve paraphrased and personalized this prayer from Colossians 1:9-11 from the amplified version. I invite you to pray this prayer, and let God speak into your life today.

I pray oh Lord that You fill me with the knowledge of Your will, spiritual discernment and wisdom. I pray that I live my life in a way that is pleasing to You, and that I will continue to grow in the knowledge of God: knowing You in a deeper way. I pray to be strengthened with all power, and to live out my life with joy.

2 thoughts on “Praying God’s Word

  1. I use to think that when i pray that i needed to have all these fancy scholar words but i realize he hears me with my words ,yes my words ,not fancy ,not copied,not how I’ve heard other pray, but what came from my heart .thanks this touched my soul.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

