My son was expressing to me how it bothers him when people shop on the internet for things they know they can’t afford. “It gets on my nerves!” he says. And then he offers, “I mean, how can you shop for something that costs $5,000 when you can’t even put $300 together?” We moved on from this conversation, and I really didn’t give it much more thought.

A few weeks later the memory of this conversation interrupted my thoughts the way a bright light pierces the darkness, and with it was this phrase: “that’s what hope looks like.”

I was instantly catapulted back in time to my own past; to a time in my life when a two dollar bargain was out of the question: literally. I was so strapped financially that over time, I stopped walking in shops because I knew there was no way I could even afford the clearance racks. At some point I stopped shopping all together. Now that’s what hopelessness looks like.

At that time in my life I had my son’s views: why shop around or look at things I knew I couldn’t purchase? I knew I would walk out empty handed, and so disappointed that I couldn’t replace worn clothing, restock my family with socks or supply them with the basics.There is a scripture that tells me, “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer” (Romans 12:12 NIV). I admit, I had no joy because I had lost hope.

Praise God, my situation turned around a long time ago. And while I am practical minded, I now dream one day of possessing what seems unattainable to me now. This is keeping hope alive!! “If we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently” (Romans 8:25 NIV). I’ve learned to trust God to meet my needs; and I’ve learned to trust Him with the desires of my heart, my hopes and my dreams. He wants us to “hope for what we do not have.”

Hope is always looking forward to a desired outcome that has not yet occurred. Hope is looking for what seems impossible now, to later become reality. We can do this when we know “with God everything is possible” (Mark 10:27 TLB).

 

Related Scriptures:
(New International Version)
Romans 8:25
Romans 12:12
Job 11:18
2 Corinthians 3:12
Psalm 71:14
Psalm 65:2

 

Leave a Reply

